The DRiP Investing Resource Center

Your Location For Dividend Reinvesting Information

Message Boards

Canadian Money and Tax Matters

Moderator is Wayne Morris

Date: 1/2/2009 9:15:48 AM
Author: Billiam Country Flag
Subject: 3296/9305 - Who's name to use...?

<= Previous    Post Response    Post New    Next =>

DS on 1/2/2009 5:07:12 AM

I'm new to DRiPing, Stocks,...self investing.
Like Spousal RRSP's, I'm thinking it only makes sense to do all of my/our DRiPing in my wife's name, as well as setting up the Discount Brokerage account in her name as well?
My income is 3x my wife's and I will have a pension after 30yrs. She will have a tiny, if any pension, as she will retire when I do.

So as I ask ?'d in the beginning, should we do all of our DRiPing and Investing in my wife's name as her income is substantially less than mine? Tax's now and Retirement?

Thanks, Dave.

nic1 on 1/2/2009 6:17:17 AM

It would make sense at this point to have your wife collect revenues if her tax rate is lower than yours. But keep in mind that for retirement, it is now possible to split income.

My 2 cents

Garnet on 1/2/2009 7:53:47 AM

Our outside RRSP investments are Garnet JTWRS Queen Bee (Joint transfer with right of survival) this way it's in both are names and if one passes the other is not broke.

Everything we have is the same way, early in my investing career I ran into a person who had everything in one spouse name and the bad happened in this case the wife was broke until bank account's and investments could be changed. She couldn't even borrow money for funeral expenses. Basically it was a mess.

I just took my 32 and out and understand that both retiring at the same time would be tough and that's what I read over and over.

CIBC Mellon has the same requirement JTWRS and I'm not sure were DRiP's are going to fit in I just know that I have 2 single shares on the way in each name. If they go in TFSA I use both, if we DRiP outside RRSP in will be joint.